About the Diocese of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands


Comprises the Territory of the United States Virgin Islands; St. Croix, St. John, St. Thomas and Water Island 
Established as the Prelature of the Virgin Islands July 23, 1960
Established as the Diocese of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands on April 20, 1977
The Diocese of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands is within the Ecclesial Province of Washington, D.C.
Metropolitan See
Archdiocese of Washington, D.C.
His Eminence Donald Cardinal Wuerl, STD
Archbishop of Washington
Pastoral Center
P.O. Box 29260
Washington, DC 20017
(301) 853-4500


Current Ordinary

Most Reverend Herbert A. Bevard
 Ordained May 20, 1972 – Sts. Peter & Paul Cathedral
Archdiocese of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Appointed Bishop of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands July 7, 2008
Episcopal Ordination and Installation September 3, 2008

Former Ordinaries

Most Reverend Edward J. Harper, C.Ss.R., D.D.
Ordained June 18, 1939; Consecrated October 6, 1960
Named first residential bishop of the Diocese of St. Thomas
In the Virgin Islands, April 20, 1977
Retired October 15, 1985; Died December 2, 1990
Most Reverend Sean P. O'Malley, O.F.M. Cap.
Ordained August 29, 1970; Named Coadjutor, May 30, 1984
Episcopal Ordination August 2, 1984; Installed October 16, 1985
Transferred to Diocese of Fall River August 11, 1992
Most Reverend Elliott G. Thomas, D.D.
Ordained June 6, 1986
Episcopal Ordination and Installation - December 12, 1993
Retired June 30, 1999
Most Reverend George V. Murry, S.J.
Ordained June 9, 1979
Appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago January 24, 1995
Episcopal Ordination and Installation March 20, 1995
Appointed Coadjutor of St. Thomas May 4, 1998
Installed as Bishop of St. Thomas June 30, 1999
Transferred to Diocese of Youngstown March 28, 2007